Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Grand

ebook
Emmy Award–winning writer Sara Schaefer's hilariously honest memoir follows her "on this wild river descent into the Grand Canyon and her own secret family history. This is a Class 1000 Rapids of a memoir and I urge you to take the ride" (John Hodgman, author of Vacationland). Perfect for fans of Let's Pretend This Never Happened.
When Sara Schaefer is in first grade, her father warns her to always tell the truth because one lie leads to another and soon you will find yourself in a hole you can't escape. A few years later, the Schaefer family is completely upended when it's revealed that their grand life is based on a lie. Her parents become pariahs in their upper middle class community and go from non-religious people to devout church members. The idea of good and evil as binary, opposed forces is a lesson she never forgets.

The year she turns forty, Sara decides to take each member of her family on a one-on-one vacation culminating with a whitewater rafting journey through the Grand Canyon with her sister. The only problem is she's terrified of rafting. Along the way, she grapples with unresolved grief over the death of her mother and the family scandal that changed the trajectory of her life.

"Funny, sweet, heartbreaking, vulnerable, and powerfully written" (Moshe Kasher, author of Kasher in the Rye), Grand is "a wise, funny acknowledgment that we are not always in control—and that growth is most likely to happen when we let go" (BookPage).

Expand title description text
Publisher: Gallery Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: August 11, 2020

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781982102234
  • Release date: August 11, 2020

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781982102234
  • File size: 2172 KB
  • Release date: August 11, 2020

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Emmy Award–winning writer Sara Schaefer's hilariously honest memoir follows her "on this wild river descent into the Grand Canyon and her own secret family history. This is a Class 1000 Rapids of a memoir and I urge you to take the ride" (John Hodgman, author of Vacationland). Perfect for fans of Let's Pretend This Never Happened.
When Sara Schaefer is in first grade, her father warns her to always tell the truth because one lie leads to another and soon you will find yourself in a hole you can't escape. A few years later, the Schaefer family is completely upended when it's revealed that their grand life is based on a lie. Her parents become pariahs in their upper middle class community and go from non-religious people to devout church members. The idea of good and evil as binary, opposed forces is a lesson she never forgets.

The year she turns forty, Sara decides to take each member of her family on a one-on-one vacation culminating with a whitewater rafting journey through the Grand Canyon with her sister. The only problem is she's terrified of rafting. Along the way, she grapples with unresolved grief over the death of her mother and the family scandal that changed the trajectory of her life.

"Funny, sweet, heartbreaking, vulnerable, and powerfully written" (Moshe Kasher, author of Kasher in the Rye), Grand is "a wise, funny acknowledgment that we are not always in control—and that growth is most likely to happen when we let go" (BookPage).

Expand title description text